I think I can, I think I can

  Wow!  It’s been a long and eventful ride (over 2 years now).  Finishing my master’s degree, preparing for the Ohio Star Ball, learning even more French so I can communicate with my in-laws, raising a puppy, designing artworks, and finding time to write has been…well…it’s been. lol!  The whole time I’ve kept my fingers crossed (which is difficult to do while typing) and my dance shoes on with acupuncture needles in hand.  Actually, kidding aside, I loved the process of bringing a story to life on paper with words instead of a paintbrush.  The challenges in writing such a manuscript has changed my way of thinking about literature and the books that have become my favorites.  Instead of simply reading for pleasure, I now pay attention to cadence, phrasing and so much more.  Reading has become one of my favorite past times!  I hope it will be just as fun to read my own novel when I no longer have to think of editing it. lol.

   With that said…I want you all to know… I am  happy and relieved to announce that my first novel, Ancient Rising is almost finished!  Yay!   The book has gone from 99,000 words to roughly 118,774 words.  I know it sounds crazy, but I think it was necessary.  Each scene and each page in the book has relevance and trying to make it fit a standard was like trying to fit an adult into a child’s car seat.  (like the visual?)

   I would like to thank all of you, my friends and family for your support.  As I’ve mentioned before, rumor has it that getting the book picked up by an agent or a publisher will be extremely difficult.  Regardless, I am thankful for the journey and to have had the opportunity to share this experience with all of you.  I will let you know when copies of this final edition are ready for your perusal and look forward to all your feedback!

With gratitude,
Laura

Leave a Reply

