Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice: Can Ben Affleck Pull Off Playing Batman?

Batman_v_Superman_logo

A huge fan of superhero films, I am beyond excited for the brand new Batman Vs Superman film set to be released March 26th, 2016. The film will star Henry Cavill as Clark Kent / Superman, reprising his role from Man of Steel; Ben Affleck as Bruce Wayne / Batman; Amy Adams as Lois Lane; Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor; Laurence Fishburne as Perry White; and Gal Gadot as Diana Prince / Wonder Woman.

Ben Affleck

My face while watching Daredevil

While I’ve seen the trailer and I must say – I am blown away by how good it looks, I am slightly concerned with the casting of Ben Affleck as Batman not because I don’t think he’s a great actor, I just can’t see it. Whenever I think of Ben Affleck in a superhero movie, I instantly think of the 2003 film Daredevil which was lackluster at best. With a track record like that, I can’t help but wonder if Ben Affleck will be able to effectively pull off the persona of the caped crusader.

I will say this, with an awesome director like Zack Snyder behind the film, it helps my doubts that Ben Affleck won’t be able to pull the role off. Not only that, but I’m slightly reminded of how I felt when I found out Heath Ledger, the dude from 10 Things I Hate About You and A Knight’s Tale, would play the Joker in Christopher Nolan’s film The Dark Knight. As we all know, however, Ledger not only pulled the role off but he literally reinvented the Joker in a way that has never been seen before or sense. The role was so good it won Ledger an Oscar posthumously, so who knows? This film could potentially house one of those unlikely-actor-picked-for-role-completely-nailing-it moments, but only time will tell.

Check out the trailer for Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice below!

Leave a Reply

