Sunny Daze Radio -Setting up a Free Internet Radio Station: Radionomy vs Live365

Playing music that makes you feel good

Playing music that makes you feel good

Check out my new internet radio station at

www.SunnyDazeRadio.com

I’ve been searching for a good way to host my own internet radio station for a long time.  I ran across all kinds of sites claiming they could host it for me, but each of them had huge limitations.  The biggest limitation was that I would have to pay hundreds or even thousands of dollars for music rights.  Then I ran across a platform that seemed promising.

What’s it called?

Live365

At first, this platform seemed perfect! The more I researched it, however, I realized that the only way for my audience to listen to my station was to go to the Live365 website and use the company’s music players. This was definitely not ideal for me, because I wanted people to be able to stream my station in places such as Second Life, Inworldz, and Digiworldz.  After a bit more research, I found out why I believe Live365 is limited. It’s because they are located inside the United States, in which there are very strict guidelines. Therefore, I know Live365 is doing their best, but I moved on.

I found the perfect place to host an Internet Radio Station!

http://www.Radionomy.com

Radionomy is located in Belgium.  They are legit, and they give you all the music rights you need. Likewise, they supply you with your own website, and allow you to stream.

I don’t think I could have found a more perfect scenario.

There are only a couple of drawbacks to this platform:

1) They only allow you to play local ads. This is because they have sponsors in which they do not want any direct competition.

2) You must work to get listeners for your station. In the first 3 months, you must have at least 12 listening hours per week.  Afterwards, between 3-9 months, you must build the listening hours to 130. After that, it must be above 130 hours per week.  So far, this is not a problem for me. I am two months in and have 36 listening hours per week.  I’m not sure how it’s going to go for the 130 hours, but I will have to do some playing around to get it I’m sure.

So I hope this article helps anyone hoping to start their own internet radio station. Feel free to comment if you have questions, or if you have other suggestions.

6 Comments

  1. rustyring said,

    December 6, 2015 at 7:01 am

    Hi Laura,

    Could you update us a bit on your experience with Radionomy? Your RN website is 404; did you not make minimum listenership? Any comments/advice you could give about your RN/Net radio experience experience would be most appreciated.

    Robin Henderson
    Programming Director, Radio Olympia. (Launching in 2016.)

    • December 6, 2015 at 7:54 am

      Hi Robin,
      Thanks for asking. I made the minimum listenership for the first three months, but then they required a higher minimum. I worked to find the listeners at first, but then I found I was spending more time advertising the station than actually enjoying the process. Additionally, I was not guaranteed to meet the forced goal by the time requirements, which seemed too risky for me. I went online and read about other people’s experiences who lost their stations after putting a lot of effort and money into them, and understood their frustration when their efforts did not pay off. Therefore, I decided to let the station go.

      The main reason I chose Radionomy was their licensing…it covered my station and I did not have to spend thousands of dollars to give it a go. At first, it was really fun, and I enjoyed the process. Later, however, when it became more about meeting their goals rather than my own, it became a burden.

      I hope that helps. Please let me know if you have more questions, and I will do my best to answer them.
      Best of luck!

      OH…and one last thing…the station often cut out and was not reliable. That’s another reason I decided to let it go.

      • rustyring said,

        December 6, 2015 at 8:36 pm

        Thanks for your fast reply, Laura! Your experience sounds like many others I’ve collected. 130 hours is a backbreaking goal, and the difficult RN interface (including server reliability) is often mentioned as a deal-breaker.

        Unfortunately, as you mentioned in your post, there aren’t many alternatives in the US, where the corporate music industry is bound and determined to prevent the Internet from happening. (Still.) Like you, I’m mostly interested in RN for their army of lawyers that keep producers safe. Failing that, American producers have to pay for a Streamlicensing.com music license, which isn’t prohibitively expensive, but only covers North American listenership; their stations have to lock out the rest of the planet to stay legal. And as per your experience, we’re in no position to turn away listeners, wherever they are.

        Did you find most of your listeners came from one country, or were they distributed over several?

        Thanks again!

        Robin

      • December 8, 2015 at 12:36 am

        Hi Robin,
        Most of my listeners were scattered throughout the world. Europe and North America were the most active. Of those regions, France stood out as well as New York. I’m not sure if that helps, but hopefully you can find a bit of value in it.
        Best of luck!
        Laura

      • rustyring said,

        December 8, 2015 at 7:44 pm

        Thanks again, Laura! All good information!

        Robin

  2. eriqtroi said,

    April 9, 2016 at 1:12 pm

    Hey there. I was looking into starting my radio show… I am curious about “listener hours” and their goals… Can you go into more details?


Leave a Reply

